Review: The Fixer (The Fixer #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

The Fixer (The Fixer, #1)The Fixer (The Fixer #1) by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Publication Date: July 7, 2015
Page Count: 384
Published by: Bloomsbury Children's
Source: eArc received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Synopsis from Goodreads:

When sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick is sent to live with her older sister, Ivy, she has no idea that the infamous Ivy Kendrick is Washington D.C.'s #1 “fixer,” known for making politicians' scandals go away for a price. No sooner does Tess enroll at Hardwicke Academy than she unwittingly follows in her sister's footsteps and becomes D.C.'s premier high school fixer, solving problems for elite teens.

Secrets pile up as each sister lives a double life. . . . until their worlds come crashing together and Tess finds herself in the middle of a conspiracy with one of her classmates and a client of Ivy's. Suddenly, there is much more on the line than good grades, money, or politics, and the price for this fix might be more than Tess is willing to pay.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for more in this exciting new series.


This was a really great book. The pacing was pretty fast, and a lot happened, especially towards the end. It was a little hard to keep up with all of the characters, and at times I had to stop and really think about who someone was. So there was a bit of confusion on my part at times, but I was able to straighten it all out in my head.

I can't express how surprised I was that there was no romance. Zero. Zilch. Nada. I thought the story was being set up for a triangle with Tess, but that didn't pan out and I am so glad! I thought there was enough going on without the added interference a romance would bring. So yay for that.

The one thing that really bothered me was that I had a hard time believing that teenagers would have the ability and wherewithal to solve the problems they were presented with. The plausibility of a bunch of kids being involved in and solving a murder mystery, especially right under the noses of the secret service, was a little far-fetched. I know it's just a story, but still.

The Fixer had a lovely group of characters. Tess was likable right away, but I had a hard time finding anything worthwhile about her sister, Ivy. Vivvie was just delightful. And Tess's 2 non love interests - Asher was so cute and charming, and Henry was strong and silent. If I were 17 (again) I could totally see myself having a hard time choosing between them! I never felt comfortable with Ivy's friend, Adam. Something about him just seemed off to me. Even after some of the truth came out, I still didn't know what to think of him. Hopefully I will get a better grip on him in the rest of the series. I have to admit that I liked Bodie the most of all. Seriously, he's barely in this book, but he was the one character that I really wanted to know more about. Call me intrigued! (Dear author: Give me more Bodie in the rest of the series. Or else. That is all.)

The Fixer had an entertaining plot that was a perfect mix of murder mystery and political intrigue that isn't usually found in YA books. This turned out to be a very enjoyable read, and I can't wait for the next book in the series.

4 stars

2 comments:

  1. I was VERY surprised by the lack of romance, but definitely okay with it. But I am team Asher if it ever comes to it. Henry brooded too much for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was okay with the lack of romance too. Asher was on the light side, and Henry was too serious. I liked both of them for different reasons, and I can see Tess being with either of them. Or both of them. Whatever.

      Delete

Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. I hope you have a wonderful day. This blog is my fun place and is an award-free zone.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...