Review: Lost in Love (City Love, #2) by Susane Colasanti

Lost in Love (City Love, #2)Lost in Love (City Love, #2) by Susane Colasanti

Publication Date: May 3, 2016
Page Count:352
Published by: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: eArc from Publisher

Synopsis from Goodreads:

In this second book of the City Love trilogy by bestselling author Susane Colasanti, three girls share a Manhattan apartment the summer before college begins. Lost in Love captures the essence of summer love, self-discovery, and sisterhood, a perfect fit for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Jennifer E. Smith.

Sadie was convinced that Austin was her soul mate, but after discovering his secret she wonders if she even knows him at all. Darcy was all about fun boy adventures with no strings attached . . . until her ex moves to New York City to win her back. Things are getting serious with Rosanna and her boyfriend, but will she be able to break free of her past and let him in? With no parents, no rules, and an entire city to explore, this is the summer that will change their lives forever.

Told from alternating points of view, Lost in Love weaves a story of first love, first heartbreak, and everything in between.

 photo MyThoughtsBanner2_zps1bk1ovpj.png

Lost In Love is the second book in this series, and I thought is was just okay. I think I may have liked the first book more. Again, this book is told from 3 POVs, which is fine, but sometimes I couldn't remember which girl was which. I also had a hard time keeping up with their boyfriend dramas. All 3 girls are super boy crazy, and they are trying to have a summer of fun before college. But I thought there was too much drinking and hanging out at bars for how young they actually are. (Yes, the legal drinking age is still 21, so how they are admitted but not carded at bars is beyond me.)

I feel bad saying anything negative about this book and series because the author is just so darn easy to like. Obviously, I'm not her target market, but I read YA all the time and the 'young' aspect doesn't usually bother me. It seems these books are geared towards a young YA audience, so maybe they are too simple for me to really enjoy. There's nothing wrong with that for certain stories, but these girls are entering college, and they have too much innocence and teenage angst for me.

By the end of this book, all 3 girls are at a crossroads in their relationships. Personally, I think all of the boys should be dumped so the girls can figure out who they are and what they want to be. The boys are a complete mess and all they do is bring the girls down. I'm hoping the 3rd book will focus more on the girls trying to be strong and be their own person, and less on the boyfriend drama. While this was an okay read, I'm sure I'll read the final book just to find out what happens.

 photo 3 star WfW_zpsgrskuj2d.png
My rating: 3 stars

3 comments:

  1. Eh, I didn’t really enjoy the first book all too much. Too much focus on guys before college, and it just made me a little bit confused with all the drama going on. Anyway, I might pick this one up, but I don’t know how it’ll fare, because if you liked the first book better, then I’m wondering how I’m going to find this one...Great review!! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I hate to admit it, but these books just aren't that great. Too much focus on boy drama. It may be best if you skip this one.

      Delete
  2. I also didn't love the first book so I wasn't planning to read this one. I also find that this author writes books that have a really young voice. I think it's great that the author writes YA that's just for teens. Young YA has its place ... but not on my bookshelf :)

    Jen @ YA Romantics

    ReplyDelete

Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. I hope you have a wonderful day. This blog is my fun place and is an award-free zone.

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...